Libro Growing Prosperity Awards

Growing Prosperity Awards

Nominations are now closed for 2020!

Libro Credit Union’s success is due to the many bold, passionate, and epic individuals who contribute their enthusiasm and expertise. The Growing Prosperity Awards celebrate this culture of excellence. The awards honour those who have made an exceptional contribution to growing prosperity in southwestern Ontario or to transforming banking for Libro Owners.


Nomination Details

  • Deadline to submit a nomination is Friday, October 2nd, 2020.
  • Recipients will be announced at Libro’s Annual General Meeting on April 2021.
  • Nominations should reflect accomplishments completed within the last 24 months.
  • You may nominate more than one person; each nomination must be on a separate form.
  • All nominations will be confidentially directed to Brian Aalbers, EVP People & Culture, Libro Credit Union.
  • The selection committee is made up of Libro Credit Union’s CEO, EVP Employee Experience, EVP Advice & Service Delivery, Chair of Libro’s Board of Directors, Chair of Libro’s Board of Directors’ People & Culture Committee.

Achievements may include:

  • Volunteer activities in the community which are aligned with Libro’s Pillars of Employment, Housing, Local Food Accessibility and Financial Resilience.
  • Contribution to economic development, social enterprise or employment.
  • Impact on Owner prosperity through coaching, service excellence and dedication to being Libro.
  • Impact on transforming banking through significant leadership and effort.
  • Contribution to co-operative values and credit union direction.

Eligibility per group

  • Libro Credit Union staff (excluding Executive Leadership Team).
  • Libro Owner Representatives (excluding Libro Board of Directors).
  • Libro Owners (excluding Libro staff, Owner Representatives and immediate family members).

2019 Growing Prosperity Award Recipients

Tammy & Gary Vandenheuvel

Recipient – Owner

Tammy and Gary’s work to support homeless and at-risk youth in the Sarnia area is transforming lives. Their new Transitional Housing Unit under their non-profit organization, Lambton Supportive Transitional Housing, provides 11 youth with a safe place to live. This Transitional Housing Unit provides youth with an opportunity to work, or get an education while gaining life skills and independence.

Congratulations Tammy & Gary!

Mira Ratkaj

Recipient – Owner Representative

Mira is recognized for her engagement at Libro and being a very committed and enthusiastic member of her local community. Mira volunteers at the Faculty of Engineering by running workshops for female graduate students. Mira has also created “The Bloom Leadership Award” which is a Student Award granted to a graduate female student who demonstrates community involvement and good academic standing. Mira is building a community to help young female professionals with networking and achieving their goals.

Congratulations Mira!

Lori Atkinson

Recipient – Staff Member

Lori is recognized for her leadership, positivity and empathy. Lori displays her passion of people and mutual success in her daily interactions with staff, Owners and as a Libro ambassador in the community. Lori’s “why not” attitude is an inspiration to Libro.

Congratulations Lori!